Packard Bell-Amibios 1.00.03.DN0E Q: 1.upgrade? 2.Manual?

How-to identify your motherboard ?
Post Reply
laksi
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 9:44 am

Dear friends all-over,
I have been looking for this info for some time now, tried Wim's various pages. The closest I got was DN0R (vs, DN0E) on a variety of ORLANDO MOBO's.
I need to know this for: Possible processors, max ram (EDO), Additional Vram modules (MOBO has 2 empty slots for these)
thank you
Yaakov Laks
Arad, Israel
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

What system (make/model) did this board come from?

E as extra character is a yet unknown OEM:
http://www.elhvb.com/mboards/intel/

It is a variant of the NV430VX/Orlando, some info on the Packard Bell ones can be found here:
http://www.uktsupport.co.uk/pb/mb/680.htm
http://www.uktsupport.co.uk/pb/mb/682.htm
http://www.uktsupport.co.uk/pb/mb/683.htm
http://www.uktsupport.co.uk/pb/mb/685.htm

Please help us to complete the OEM table...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
laksi
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 9:44 am

Dag Evasive | Edwin,
Bedankt voor de vlotte(?) (fast) antwoord.
Hoe is het in Breda, nog steeds wit met sneeuw?
And that is as much as I dare to risk my poor Dutch abilities (debilities?).
You asked: "What system (make/model) did this board come from?"
Reply: it is an ancient PB I'm trying to revive for a friend, a lable pasted to th front reads: Diplomat Multimedia Supreme
No documentation available, I ran Belarc advisor for any details I have.
Board is: Intel NV430VX - as you mentioned
Processor is P 166 (I tried & succeeded overclocking to 200).
I did look at all the various 68x you suggested, they all differ from the board I got - they do not have the Video connections at the back, there is blank space between the VGA and the USB connectors.
It had no HD, so I put one in, loaded it with win98SE, but it won't boot from HD, have to boot from floppy & then win98 operates OK.
Daag En weer bedankt
Yaakov Laks
Arad, Israel
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Aha. It is still white here and there but most of it has gone.

As for the windows problem:

Start from the bootdisk but do not start windows.

start fdisk

option 2, make a partition active
choose the partition where windows resides (most likey partition 1).

exit fdisk, take out floppy and reboot. That should do the trick.

As for the identification: so it is a Packard Bell, I mean it has got the Packard Bell logo on the case?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
laksi
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 9:44 am

hi Edwin,
Too bad that skating on the frozen slooten is niet langer mogelijk...

Sure it is a PB - I wrote that in the subject line from the beginning...

My specific questions are:

1. Manual;
2. Max RAM possible on MOBO
3. Max processor speed (I assume 200, but YOUR logo says: Do not assume anything);
4. BIOS upgrade, if at all possible, and if yes then where can I find it and how to do it? (I tried AMI on the web, didn't find answer)

weer bedankt
Doooei of Dooey of gewoon Dag
Yaakov Laks
Post Reply