two no-name socket 7 boards

How-to identify your motherboard ?
Post Reply
gangsta
BIOS Rookie
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 6:31 pm

I have these two socket 7 boards , info below is just what I see printed on both -- they are not installed for now.

------------
First:
I think made by IPC / under OEM perhaps. but not sure.
AI5TV - 1.30 (7)
MB586PCI #61
Award 1995 bios PCI/PNP 586
VX chipset
No jumpers for Bus Freq/Multiplier
But PCB print shows 66Mhz bus option (no jumper)

------------

Second:
this one has multiple numbers printed on stickers, but I am almost sure it was made by Intel for Sony VAIO 90 desktop PC 200 non-MMX.

AA659980-441 (sticker 1)
AA659177-442 (sticker 2)
M03823603 ( printed ; not sure if it is a Serial or a model # ??)

It has on board VGA (ATI 3D RAGE) & sound (Yamaha).
The rest of the chips are all Intel branded.
There are jumpers for bus speed (50/60/66) and multiplier (up to 3x).

This additional number below is printed between the ISA slot connectors next to the CE logo:
E139761

now , did any one identify them?
What is the manufacturer website , where can I get some bios updates for them. Both have not been updated.
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

The fist one is TMC AI5TV: 10/16/97-i430VX,W83877F-2A59GM29C-00. Manual http://www.mycomp.com.tw/manual/ai5tv22a.pdf, BIOS http://www.mycomp.com.tw/bios/ai5tv9.zip, FAQ http://lab.mynix.com/ftp/mycomp/ai5tv/AI5TVfaq.htm.

The second one is Intel, but don't know which one. http://support.intel.com/support/mother ... entify.htm
You may try to find this board here http://support.intel.com/support/mother ... rchive.htm
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
gangsta
BIOS Rookie
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 6:31 pm

thanks for the prompt reply!.

now can these be fitted with a simple Super 7 or PPGA adapter on the Socket 7 PGA (i.e. like the one supplied with PowerLeap & Evergreen upgrades). I'd like to upgrade them myself because I already have the chips (k6-2 & Celeron).
If those companies can provide socket upgrades for these boards; I should be able to do the same once I figure out what socket adapter they are using to do that trick. I am sure some one is selling it ...

Besides $200 is just too much money; for a Celeron 300 + a cheap PGA adapter -- to justify spending on an old mobo.
I think I can get an Athlon 1 Ghz + mobo for less than that price they are asking. I guess you see my point.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Second one is the OEM-only AG430HX (Agate) motherboard. Manual can be had here:

http://www.intel.com/design/motherbd/oem/index.htm

BIOS: Sony...
gangsta
BIOS Rookie
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 6:31 pm

yep... that is the one alright.... how did you know!
I had it for years & couldn't figure that out

thanks
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Waaaay back Intel had a news server of their own with some support newsgroups. I have learnt a lot there. And so did the Intel moderators ;)

Some info on my bios ID page dates back to mid-1997:
http://www.xs4all.nl/~elhvb/intelnr.html

You will find this list in all sorts and forms scattered throughout the WWW. I don't mind, that is what the intention was, getting people to know which Intel board they were dealing with...
gangsta
BIOS Rookie
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 6:31 pm

I for one surly appreciate what you are doing, and thank you for the help.

going back to the 2 mobos above,

the first (TMC AI5TV) has the BIOS on a socket . Can I replace it with a better or customized bios (using chip programmer) , or even from another source. The purpose is to increase the clock multiplier to go beyond 200 mhz . Are there upgrades for the VX chipset on this one.

Now speaking of chipsets, I seem to remember reading some where, a while ago, that there is an upgrade for (not sure) TX or HX chipsets...
did you come across this, I am just curious now since mine is an ag430hx like you said.
a_user
Good ol' Boy
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2002 4:09 pm
Location: Elgin, Texas

You could try to replace the bios with a custom chip.... But, I doubt that it would run stable in the 200mhz FSB range as the rest of the motherboard components are not geared for it. A good example would be AGP if has one or ever tht I/O controller and of course memory is key.

As general rule we stay away for OCing as there are other forums much more suited to answering your question.
Please use the Fourms for Bios Questions
and not my Email

Flashing is risky in any form!
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Yup, as a_user says, you can get a new bios, but if the rest of the board isn't built to hold that 200+ MHz CPU, all you'll get is smoke, not a faster system. As for the powerleap upgrades, you can almost buy a board, AMD CPU and memory to go with it for the price of two their socket7 upgrades...
gangsta
BIOS Rookie
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 6:31 pm

edwin, & a_user ,

what the heck ....!???! who said any thing about going to 200MHZ FSB. Remember it is a P1 mobo here. I only meant the multiplier (you know 3x, 4x, 5x etc).
Of course byy replacing the bios I'd like to see an increase in FSB on my P1 mobo to at least 83 & 100 mhz ....not 200 mhz!

Right now they are both using 66mhz with the multiplier maxed out almost.
but if I could get 83mhz or 100mhz; or alternativly 4x or 5x, I could jack it up to 266 to 333 mhz.
I know P1 200 can overclock at that range.

all what I need now, is a 430VX /or HX bios that supports these levels.

I hope this clears it up

thanks
a_user
Good ol' Boy
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2002 4:09 pm
Location: Elgin, Texas

Oooops my mistake.... Assuming you could get a bios that had a 66/100 fsb to work you still might have a stability problem. The board is just to old to a whole lot to.
Please use the Fourms for Bios Questions
and not my Email

Flashing is risky in any form!
gangsta
BIOS Rookie
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 6:31 pm

i believe the board can take it. If not I wont loose much when it burns, just an old mobo I can gamble with.
Others have done it you know
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Out of curiosity then? Why not replace the main oscillator with something faster? I've seen somebody do this on an Asus board with quite good results. Forget about doing that on the Intel board.
Post Reply