Biostar 8500TVX-A V2.1

Request help finding jumper settings or a motherboard manual.
Post Reply
bizzybody
BIOS Rookie
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 1:30 pm

Biostar 8500TVX-A V2.1

Post by bizzybody » Fri Nov 02, 2007 3:54 am

I'd like to find a complete manual for this board. I've found some bits and pieces- diagrams of some of the jumpers by digging around Biostar's old sites with archive.org.

The oldest archived there does have a link that might have lead to a page to download full manuals, but of course that's a page the web archive completely missed. :(

edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6206
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by edwin » Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:16 am

can you give the link to that page? I might be able to dig up stuff here in the offline manual section...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...

edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6206
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by edwin » Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:28 am

I wonder what other settings you might want apart from these? Are there any other jumpers anyway?
http://web.archive.org/web/199804202131 ... om/tvx.htm

http://web.archive.org/web/200212230439 ... mantvx.htm
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...

bizzybody
BIOS Rookie
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 1:30 pm

Post by bizzybody » Fri Nov 02, 2007 12:06 pm

Nice to know it supports LBA mode, but as to the maximum HD size? Too bad it only does two different Vcore voltages, so no K6-2 300 for this one.

edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6206
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by edwin » Fri Nov 02, 2007 12:26 pm

larger harddisks:
http://www.wimsbios.com/phpBB2/topic8931.html

the last bios released for this board dates back to june 19th,1997 and there's no mentioning of what size is supported.

Some more info:
http://web.archive.org/web/200705101804 ... 500TVX.htm

Good luck.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...

cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Post by cp » Sat Nov 03, 2007 11:57 am

the board has linear regulators so you'd better not put anything in there that is beyond 7A core current. linear regulators are inefficient for high currents and turn the unused energy into heat.

KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1450
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi » Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:47 pm

cp wrote:the board has linear regulators so you'd better not put anything in there that is beyond 7A core current. linear regulators are inefficient for high currents and turn the unused energy into heat.
Technically this would depend on the exact regulator in use...

cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Post by cp » Sat Nov 03, 2007 10:28 pm

that's right..but if the regulator is powered by 5V and you want 2,2V output, it has to turn 5v-2,2V=2,8V * core current into heat.
if you now presume that there will be a core current of 7A the regulator has to turn 2,8V * 7A = 19,6W ~ 20W into heat! this is more than the cpu will be actually turn into heat..and this all is regardless of the regulator used.

KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1450
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi » Sun Nov 04, 2007 3:05 pm

Yup...that's true too. :P

edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6206
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by edwin » Sun Nov 04, 2007 11:52 pm

Could do with an extra heatsink then, no? Hmm, I think we may need to find out exactly what regulator is used to prevent it from releasing the magic smoke...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...

cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Post by cp » Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:59 am

yes, a larger heatsink would do. or an extra fan for the regulator. the main problem still remains: the regulator is wasting more power than the cpu is using. or in other words: the efficiency of the regulator is below 50%

KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1450
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi » Mon Nov 05, 2007 4:14 pm

Inefficiency does not mean that it won't work...

cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Post by cp » Mon Nov 05, 2007 8:36 pm

that's right. as long as the regulator will go all the way down to 2.2V (2.4V resp.) and take a power dissipation of 20W

Post Reply