DFI CW-35-S MOBO 600 Celeron upgrade to 700Celeron Problem

Don't ask how to over-clock.
Post Reply
Arnold
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 10:53 pm

Appreciate any help

Motherboard is a DFI CW-35-S Revision C2 600Celeron processor
I obtained a 700mghz Celeron. Checked intel. Processor Specs are identical save The 6-700 Both are pc 66mghz. Checked DFI, Mobo
supports up to 700mghz processor. Should just change out.? Right?
Wrong! Switched them Try normal boot C,A does POST detects drives
then to Verifying DMI pool screen. Then auto reboots system and repeats
process. Is this a bios problem or a bad processor. possibly need bios
upgrade? Back to DFI Website cant make sense of which one is right if that is the case. Appreciate any response. Thank-you

Mobo DFI CW-35-S Intel 810 chipset Award bios Version 6.0 ID no.
1-810-DD-6A69MD43C-00

Also appreciate any thoughts on a a strange thing. This mobo "says" In Bios its runnin at 160 degrees on the processor, 85 on the chassis. This is B4 I ever thought of changing the Processor. Is this way too hot? or possibly inaccurate Temp.? the thing runs pretty decent It's been like that since I've had it.

Hope I'm not posting something already covered as I spent a while reading the posts before I did this. I love this sight It's always been very helpful and I recomend my friends to it Keep up the good work !!!!!!


Arnold
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6275
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Install latest bios with the celly 600 mounted, then try the celly 700 again.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Arnold
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 10:53 pm

Which and what bios is the correct one?
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

I would try the latest CW35-S BIOS, CW350305.BIN
BIOS Info: 03/05/2001-i810-DD-6A69MD43C-00
BIOS message:
Arnold
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 10:53 pm

Downloaded The CW350305 zip file From DFI. Extract, Format A:\ Then
Copy files to A:\ (The flash utility and the .bin file) Re-boot to A:\
Freezes at DMI screen w/ message:

Remove disks or other media
Press any key to restart

My Question is : Is this where your supposed to go into the motherboard
and set the Jumper to maintenance? and then boot to A:\ ??????

Appreciate any help

Arnold
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6275
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Make a bootable floppy, then copy flash util etc files to it, then reboot to A:\
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Arnold
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 10:53 pm

Ok

Made the ms-dos boot disk on Windows XP. Copy files AWDFLASH and
CW350305 to the same disk. Check contents of A:\ everything set. Reboot
to A:\ Type DIR Get the list. Type AWDFLASH CW350305. Starts up award
flash. Asks if I wanna save current BIOS. Typed y it says starts copying to A:\ Then stops,, Not Enough space.. OK. No problem. re-boot No save this time. Then in error message box it says

ERROR:FILE NOT FOUND

And the file displayed in the window looks like this

cw350305

Not CW350305 as in A prompt screen

Any Ideas?
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Use this bootdisk :
www.bootdisk.com -> DR-DOS 7.x "Basic-Biosflash"
-> This will create a disk with a lot of free space

Copy the files you need for your update on it
Make sure the files are not hidden or read-only
Make sure the filename meets the 8.3 filename rule - rename it to newbios.bin to make sure it works
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

You copied CW350305.bin to the diskette? and used the command line
awdflash CW350305.bin /sn/py/cc/cd/cp ?
Tested patched BIOSes. Untested patched BIOSes.
Emails *will* be ignored unless the subject line starts "Wim's BIOS forum"
Arnold
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 10:53 pm

Here we go


Got the new Boot disk and Yes the problem was , Not having the file in
windows Named CW350305.bin. That is very IMPORTANT..!!!!!! Rebooted
to A:\


I saved the old BIOS to A:\ Inputed the new file CW350305.bin It installed. prompted me to reboot. I did, Went into bios, Loaded optimal settings, Hit F-10 Rebooted. The Bios date was changed from Feb '00 to Mar '01 so I'm assuming all is well with the bios. However Shut it all down
Tried the 700mghz CPU. did the same as B-4 got to DMI screen and reboots. So I put the Ole' 600 back in and came here to tell you all
Any ideas???????

and thanks All who replied
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Board -
http://www.dfi.com.tw/Product/xx_produc ... CT_ID=1201

Supported CPU -
Intel Celeron™ processor 300A~533MHz
Intel Celeron™ processor 300A~700MHz*
Intel Pentium® III FCPGA 500E-850EMHz/100MHz*

* - Supported in Rev. C or later

Celeron Specifications -
http://processorfinder.intel.com/script ... ProcFam=49

Can you post the "SL" numbers of your CPU's, just for a sanity check? Looks like everything should work fine... Is the CPU known to be functional?? Try verifying that the new CPU is setting up in the BIOS correctly.
Post Reply