fix Award 4.51PG 32gb hd limitation on Asus sp97-v

BIOS update, EIDE card, or overlay software? (FAQ Hard disk recognition)
AmenophisIII
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 7:56 pm

how difficult is it to make ur own bios version with 32+GB support?
imo its always the same sheme or not?
there any tuts?
greetz, AmenophisIII
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

I'm developing a program that can fix 32GB bug in Award BIOSes. I can send you a modified BIOS. If you want to test it, it's at your own risk.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
AmenophisIII
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 7:56 pm

if i can find somebody nearby who can reflash the eeprom if it doesnt work sure
u can get the orig bios here:
http://cgi.asus.com.tw/cgi-bin/dl.asp?f ... 7v0108.zip
greetz, AmenophisIII
AmenophisIII
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 7:56 pm

well i dled uniflash, but it doesnt recognize the bioschip.
its a SST 29EE010 and afaik there is no write protection so it should work. any ideas?
greetz, AmenophisIII
AmenophisIII
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 7:56 pm

found someone who could help me in emergency...
if u have the bios ready for testing up it somewhere and pm me
tia
greetz, AmenophisIII
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

It's possible that UniFlash does not work on that chipset. You can get the BIOS at http://www.wimsbios.com/~rainbow/BIOS%2032GB/sp97v.zip
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
AmenophisIII
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 7:56 pm

thx
the chipset is recognized correctly (shows a bunch of sis chipsets...)
only the bios chip data is missing...
anyway ill try it with awardflash...
greetz, AmenophisIII
AmenophisIII
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 7:56 pm

hm
is there a aflash version that can flash the bios without the bootcode?
or is there another posibility to leave the bootcode intact?
greetz, AmenophisIII
AmenophisIII
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 7:56 pm

WUHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
i owe u one :D
it recognizes my 40GB fujitsu....
greetz, AmenophisIII
AmenophisIII
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 7:56 pm

tried today a 80GB cuda IV.
it correctly recongizes the hd type on the 1st bios screen (with the epa logo) but on the second it gets stuck...
the last thing that shows up is: "Pri. Master Disk: LBA, UDMA 2," with the cursor under the last ,
64GB limitation?
greetz, AmenophisIII
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

The 32GB fix looks to be OK :D
The second problem is the 64GB bug. Don't know any solution now. My biggest drive is 40GB - I can't test it :(
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
BiosMan
The BIOS Patcher
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 9:20 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

AmenophisIII,

I'm presently working on a fix that will also remove the 64GB limit in the SP97-V BIOS. I expect to have it ready for testing in a day or 2.
This patch is based on the latest 0109v-5 BIOS and will have both K6-2+/-III+ and IDE harddisk support upto 128GB.

Please sent me an e-mail and I will send you a copy of the BIOS.

Jan.
J.Steunebrink@net.HCC.nl
The Unofficial AMD K6-2+ / K6-III+ page
http://web.inter.nl.net/hcc/J.Steunebrink/k6plus.htm
AmenophisIII
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 7:56 pm

sent... tia

cant test k6... only p1mmx
and 80GB hd....
greetz, AmenophisIII
AmenophisIII
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 7:56 pm

works!
asus sp97-v with 127GB support
HAR
thx everyone!
greetz, AmenophisIII
BiosMan
The BIOS Patcher
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 9:20 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

AmenophisIII,

Thanks for the feedback! I'm pleased it works well. :-)
When the testing of the K6plus patch is finished, I will put this BIOS on my
k6plus page.

Greetings,
Jan.
The Unofficial AMD K6-2+ / K6-III+ page
http://web.inter.nl.net/hcc/J.Steunebrink/k6plus.htm
Post Reply