Is 1.00.06.CN0 BIOS proper updgrade for 1.00.03.CN0T?

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
Post Reply
amptron2x
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 9:58 pm

Is 1.00.06.CN0 BIOS proper updgrade for 1.00.03.CN0T?

Post by amptron2x » Wed Jan 15, 2003 10:24 pm

I have an old Gateway P-120 with a Pentium 120 MHz CPU, a Selectron motherboard (MBDSAC045AAWW - a version of the Intel Advanced/ATX), and an Intel Triton 430 FX chip set running under the AMI 1.00.03.CN0T Bios.

Does any one know if the 1.00.06.CN0 BIOS, which I can download from the Intel site, is an appropriate upgrade for the 1.00.03.CN0T BIOS and for my P5-120?

Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by Rainbow » Thu Jan 16, 2003 1:04 am

It's an OEM version of the Intel board. You will not be able to flash the BIOS using the utility. You can try it using the recovery jumper on the board - but it's at your own risk.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere

amptron2x
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 9:58 pm

No recovery jumper on this board

Post by amptron2x » Thu Jan 16, 2003 6:23 pm

First, thanks for your reply...

Second, from my reading of the MB manual, there doesn't appear to be a recovery jumper on the board. If you screw up flasing the BIOS, there is no recovery code in the FLASH device, so you have to get a special PCI card from the manufacturer (Gateway? Intel?) that allows the recovery process to take place. Fat chance for that, I think, considering the board is at least six years old.

So, where does that leave me? Clearly, I think that flashing with 1.00.06.CN0 would be foolhardy. No guarentee it will work and no way of recovering if it doesn't. That said, do you know of any BIOS I might substitute for 1.00.03.CN0T? The reason I'm pursuing this is this: The board is rated for 128 Megs of memory but only recognizes 64 Megs. Both Intel and Gateway docs say it should be able to recognize 128. My suspicion is that the BIOS is controlling the amount of RAM the machine recognizes. I'm hoping to find a BIOS that works and lets the machine recognize the additional memory. Any ideas?

techweenie
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 11:44 am

Re: Is 1.00.06.CN0 BIOS proper updgrade for 1.00.03.CN0T?

Post by techweenie » Tue May 03, 2016 11:47 am

In case anyone is resurrecting one of these machines like I just did, it IS possible to use the 1.00.06.CN0 BIOS from Intel on the Gateway motherboard. All you have to do is hex edit the 1006cn0_.bio and 1006cn0_.bi1 files and change the header to CN0T. It removes the gateway logo during post, but works perfect!

edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6206
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Is 1.00.06.CN0 BIOS proper updgrade for 1.00.03.CN0T?

Post by edwin » Wed May 11, 2016 10:00 am

The other working option is using a recovery flash of the official Intel bios.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...

Post Reply