Replaced Gateway BIOS with Vanilla intel-Need to restorei915

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
aolszowka
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 8:14 am

Hi,

I'm sorry to pull up a form post that is so old, but I've run into the exact same problem and I was wondering if anyone had the correct replacement bios for this board?

Thank you
longlostname
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:25 pm

I made the same mistake.

I have the same problem with my Gateway 5300S with a D915GAG motherboard.
I did a BIOS flash upgrade of my Intel EV91510A.15A.0123 BIOS to the Intel

EV91510A.86A.0470. Now it works very erratically.

I need the original EV91510A.15A.0123 BIOS file to flash it back.

In the following link, a user uploaded a bin file (15A0123.zip) that was created using Uniflash:
http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/ ... ntry206073

But then, I saw that user 'edwin' later said:
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Can you email me the file? the one in that forum is corrupt!

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////


edwin, can you PLEASE tell me what became of that BIOS file?


Thanks.
longlostname
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:25 pm

I have spoke with Gateway support and they claim that they have the EV91510A.15A.0123 BIOS file, but they require that I pay $100 for a Answers by Gateway Service Package in order to get the file. They say that they can provide the file, but I will have to pay $100.

I have extensively google searched every way I know how and looked through hundreds of links, but I cannot find where anyone else has referenced uploading it.

edwin, are you out there? Can you help me locate this file from previous posts?

Thanks.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6271
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Sounds like I'll have to sift through my email archives to see if it ever was sent to me.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
longlostname
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:25 pm

edwin,

Thank you very much for looking. I really hope that you can find it.

If it is not in your email archives, can you think of ANY other place that I can get this BIOS file?


Thanks.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6271
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Buying a working specimen of this same board on ebay, backup the bios and resell that board. I think...
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Gateway-eMachin ... 0861702054

I wouldn't know of a different way yet since there's no known way of converting the bios upgrade files into a binary that can be flashed with uniflash...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
longlostname
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:25 pm

edwin,

Buying a duplicate board, pulling the BIOS off of that board, and then applying it to the non-working board is a much more involved process than I was hoping for.

So, am I stuck with paying $100 for a Answers by Gateway Service Package in order to get the file?


Thanks.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6271
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

It's not in my main email account, which means I need to go down the archives, which requires firing up my old desktop first :roll:
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
longlostname
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:25 pm

edwin,

Please do let me know, one way or the other, if you find it in your email archives. I am really not wanting to pay $100 to Gateway for this one file.


Thanks.
ozzsurf
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 2:11 pm

I also need the EV91510A.15A.0123 BIOS file
looked every where on the net cant find it
it must be some where out there

edwin if you find it on your old pc
please upload it

many thanks
longlostname
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:25 pm

What if I was to find another Gateway PC that is running the Intel EV91510A.15A.0123 BIOS? I could then make a copy of the BIOS running on that PC and then apply it to my Gateway 5300S.

There are other models of the Gateway PC that are running the Intel EV91510A.15A.0123 BIOS. Here are just a few I have identified:
*****************************
Gateway 3250S
Gateway 507GR
Gateway 5200XL
*****************************

From many of the posts that I have read, it is better to use the manufacturers flash utility instead of a third party utility. In this instance, instead of using UniFlash, I should use Intel's IFlash. I have plenty of documentation on how to use IFlash to apply a BIO file in a flash update. What I do not yet have is how to CREATE a BIO file for use by the IFlash utility.

I have here the command line documentation for IFlash:

/////////////////////

Intel Flash Memory Update Utility Part 643643-051

GUI-mode options:
/m - Monochrome display /b - Use BIOS video calls
/t - Use EGA/VGA line count /n - Do not use pointer device
Command-line mode options:
/h - Help (this text)
/q - Quiet mode; errors only, and no prompts
/qb - Quiet mode; No beeps
Standard options:
/r - Force reboot after update /@ - Use override file
/f - Force CMOS defaults next POST /d - Verbose debugging output
/p pathname - Program FLASH device with contents of 'pathname'.
/nr - No reboot when complete (SMI flash method)
/rb - Reboot before update (non-SMI flash method)
Special Operations:
/v pathname - Verify current flash with contents of 'pathname.'
/x pathname - eXamine flash header of 'pathname'.
/sX pathname - Save resident flash area to 'pathname' (or 'vvvv'BIOS)
X = { 'B'IOS, 'L'anguage, 'U'ser, 'R'ecovery } area.
/ae - Erase OEM CMOS Defaults.
/ac - Copy Custom CMOS Defaults into the OEM CMOS Defaults.
/af - Force OEM CMOS Defaults next POST.
/ag pathname - Get OEM CMOS Defaults to 'pathname'.
/as pathname - Set OEM CMOS Defaults with contents of 'pathname'.
/ew pathname - Write BMI settings with contents of 'pathname'.
/er pathname - Retrieve BMI settings to 'pathname'.
/md - Load default modules only (like recovery).

/////////////////////


It looks like 'IFlash /sB'. I am not sure. I will continue looking.

I also am not certain if it is better for me to do the 'Instructions for Recovery BIOS update':
http://www.intel.com/support/motherboar ... 60.htm#usb

Using this method, I simply put only the BIO file on a diskette, remove the BIOS Configuration Jumper, and boot with the diskette in the diskette drive. The PC will read the BIO file and apply the update.

Or, should I do the IFlash command line option:
http://www.intel.com/support/motherboar ... 023358.htm

Using this method, I boot to DOS and, at the command line, enter:
IFLASH /PF XXX.BIO


Based on what I have been reading, it appears the most thorough method is going to be Recovery BIOS update method. Either way, I just need to learn how to create the .BIO file from another PC first.

I would appreciate any feedback/input that I can get on this.
longlostname
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:25 pm

I just booted to DOS and tried both commands on the Gateway 5300S Desktop PC and nothing happened.

I tried both of these:
'IFlash /sB xxx.BIO'
'IFlash /sR xxx.BIO'

Each time I enter the commands, I get the following on the screen:

*****************************************
Intel Flash Memory Update Utility Part 643643-051
*****************************************

After that, it just returns to the DOS prompt. I checked for any .BIO files and there are none. No new files at all.

If I do a 'IFash /?' command, I get the following:

/////////////////////

Intel Flash Memory Update Utility Part 643643-051

GUI-mode options:
/m - Monochrome display /b - Use BIOS video calls
/t - Use EGA/VGA line count /n - Do not use pointer device
Command-line mode options:
/h - Help (this text)
/q - Quiet mode; errors only, and no prompts
/qb - Quiet mode; No beeps
Standard options:
/r - Force reboot after update /@ - Use override file
/f - Force CMOS defaults next POST /d - Verbose debugging output
/p pathname - Program FLASH device with contents of 'pathname'.
/nr - No reboot when complete (SMI flash method)
/rb - Reboot before update (non-SMI flash method)
Special Operations:
/v pathname - Verify current flash with contents of 'pathname.'
/x pathname - eXamine flash header of 'pathname'.
/sX pathname - Save resident flash area to 'pathname' (or 'vvvv'BIOS)
X = { 'B'IOS, 'L'anguage, 'U'ser, 'R'ecovery } area.
/ae - Erase OEM CMOS Defaults.
/ac - Copy Custom CMOS Defaults into the OEM CMOS Defaults.
/af - Force OEM CMOS Defaults next POST.
/ag pathname - Get OEM CMOS Defaults to 'pathname'.
/as pathname - Set OEM CMOS Defaults with contents of 'pathname'.
/ew pathname - Write BMI settings with contents of 'pathname'.
/er pathname - Retrieve BMI settings to 'pathname'.
/md - Load default modules only (like recovery).
/////////////////////

If I enter 'IFlash', I am presented with a menu interface that has the following:

**************************************
Main Menu
Update flash memory area from a file
Exit Program
**************************************

Why am I not getting any output files when I do the 'IFlash /sB xxx.BIO' and 'IFlash /sR xxx.BIO' commands?

Thanks.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6271
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

try using A:\ or C:\ because it is saying pathname
what does flashrom tell you when trying to make a backup?
http://flashrom.org/Flashrom
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
longlostname
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:25 pm

Edwin,

I have tried
'IFlash /sB a:\'
'IFlash /sR a:\'

Both do not create output files.

I have run FLASHROM. I entered the following command:
************
flashrom -r a:\intel085.bio -p internal
************

The following is the output that I received:
/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
flashrom v0.9.6.1-r1624 on MS-DOS 7 (i786)
flashrom is free software, get the source code at http://www.flashrom.org

Calibrating delay loop... OK.
Found chipset "Intel ICH6/ICH6R". Enabling flash write... WARNING: Setting Bios Control at 0xdc from 0x02 to 0x03 on ICH6/ICH6R failed.
New value is 0x02.
FAILED!
No EEPROM/flash device found.
Note: flashrom can never write if the flash chip isn't found automatically.
/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

I ran UNIFLASH. UNIFLASH created a backup of the flash memory, but did have a problem with the detection.
Post Reply