Intel Triton 430HX rev 3 - usb and bios upgrade issues!

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
Eoin
New visitors - please read the rules.

Hi there,
I'm having some major bios / USB difficulties that maybe someone could help me with. I've searched for hours on the web to find information, but alas there was nothing specific to my problem. I've got a PC that's about 5 years old. It has 2 USB ports that look connected to my motherboard when I open up the PC (I'm no hardware expert, though), but I'm not sure if these ports have ever been used. It's running windows ME, but had previously been running windows 95. I'm not sure how the OS was upgraded, as I didn't upgrade the OS myself. I just bought a scanner and tried to set it up, but discovered my USB ports were not enabled in windows (they were not listed in device manager). I tried to enable them in bios, but my bios makes no mention of USB anywhere. I read in several places that a bios upgrade might be needed, but when I got the last BIOS version available (BIOS 1.00.07.DH0) for my motherboard (Intel Triton 430HX rev 3) from the Intel website, and tried to upgrade the bios, I got an error message saying "this system does not support flash memory". Does anyone know what might be causing any of these problems - USB not showing in bios, bios not updating, or can anyone give me advice on how to get my USB running? I checked the wimsbios FAQ but I don't think point 28, " Why is there no option to enable USB in my BIOS setup?" is relevant to me, as my motherboard supposedly supports USB. Would reinstalling windows 95 make any difference to my bios settings? I appreciate any help anyone can offer here. I'll also post this on a USB forum, in case some elements of my query are not relevant here. Thanks very much,
Eoin

more info

Program: Unicore BIOS Wizard Version 1.8
Program: Unicore Chip Detect v0.72 2000.03.10
BIOS Date: 01/27/97
BIOS Type: PhoenixBIOS Version 4.05 M7SHi-01
BIOS ID: unknown