How Can I Update My Bios From APM To ACPI

APM/ACPI BIOS questions
PGM
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 2:09 pm
Location: Morón (Spain)

Post by PGM » Sat Oct 22, 2005 11:02 pm

When your computer boots from CD in order to install Windows, hit F5. Wait, a menu will appear, select ACPI. Of course, you must enable ACPI in Power Management Setup.

meshwire
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 7:35 am

ACPI issues

Post by meshwire » Fri Feb 03, 2006 7:55 am

my pc does shut down but manually must be turned off by the AVR im using win xp SP2 it does shut down but it only shows the message "its now safe to turn off your computer" i was using win 98 before and it shuts down automatically after it says the message "its now safe to turn off your computer"

heres the specs

Bios date 01/15/99
Bios type award modular bios v4.51pg
OEM sign on: V.791BS_2 A06
Bios ID 01/15/99-691-586B-W877-2A6LFJ1CC
Chipset : VIA 82C691 rev1
CPU: Intel celeron MMX 300aMhz
Ram :129
Board by Jetway J-791BS

Thanks

ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Post by ajzchips » Sat Feb 04, 2006 5:15 am

In the Device Manager you'll have to unhide an entry that's called "NT Legacy APM...." and activate it.

meshwire
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 7:35 am

Nt amp legacy activation dint work

Post by meshwire » Sun Feb 05, 2006 12:00 pm

Nt legacy AMP activation dint work :( what will be the next option? Is it the BIOS? can it be upgraded? is there an upgrade?

ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Post by ajzchips » Sun Feb 05, 2006 8:00 pm


meshwire
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 7:35 am

the jetway company has removed their links

Post by meshwire » Fri Feb 10, 2006 12:59 pm

too bad there a link on the jetway site but the download link is no longer avail ....

KURIAKI
Moderator
Posts: 1037
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 9:37 pm
Location: Cancun, Mexico

Post by KURIAKI » Fri Feb 10, 2006 8:10 pm

Jetway site has changed:
http://210.201.178.76/evisn/download/bios/download1.htm
Follow the link under Slot 1, 791B/R2
More than 100,000 BIOS strings in my database just now!
http:/ /www.kuriaki.has.it/
http:/ /www.supportbios.info
------------------------------------------
Saludos desde Cancun, Mexico
KURIAKI

Ritchie
BIOS Guru
Posts: 761
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 5:17 am

Post by Ritchie » Sun Feb 12, 2006 9:20 am

In Windows 2000, and probably also XP, you can install with APM support by pressing (I think) F7 when setup starts.

If the problem is simply that you cannot install because you do not have ACPI support, you may be able to do something similar to install with APM support.

Post Reply