How Can I Update My Bios From APM To ACPI

APM/ACPI BIOS questions
safwan
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:19 am

How Can I Update My Bios From APM To ACPI

Post by safwan » Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:31 am

HI Friends,
Can Someone Tell Me How To Upgrade My Bios Power From APM TO ACPI.
My Bios Info Is:-
Program: eSupport.com BIOS Agent Version 3.45
BIOS Date: 07/13/00
BIOS Type: Award Modular BIOS v4.51PG
BIOS ID: 07/13/2000-693-596B-8671-2A6LGV3DC
OEM Sign-On: BIOS-I-2M (2K000713)
Chipset: VIA 82C691 rev 68
Superio: Unknown
OS: WinXP SP2
CPU: PENTIUM III 700 Mhz
BIOS ROM In Socket: Yes
BIOS ROM Size: 256K
Memory Installed: 384 MB
Memory Maximum: 512 MB
Memory Slot 01: 128 MB
Memory Slot 02: 128 MB
Memory Slot 03: 128 MB
Memory Slot 04: 0 MB

My Friend Suggested Me Upgrading It From Award Bios V4.51pg To Award Bios v6.00 Will Change It To ACPI.If It Can Be Done So THen Where Can I Get The Update For Free.Or Is There Any Of Changing APM to ACPI.Can Someone Give Me A Good Answer.My Motherboard Is VIa.My Os I WIn XP And My MAin Aim Of UPgrading This Is For Installing Longhorn As The Setup says That My Bios Is Not ACPI Compatible.
Thanks In Advance

ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: How Can I Update My Bios From APM To ACPI

Post by ajzchips » Fri Oct 07, 2005 5:42 pm

safwan wrote:My Friend Suggested Me Upgrading It From Award Bios V4.51pg To Award Bios v6.00 Will Change It To ACPI.
That isn't true.

You have a PCPARTNER board.

http://www.pcpartner.com/support/bios/VIA694.HTM#prop

Check the pictures of the boards in the list with (VT82C596B)

zonxar
Master Flasher
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 7:26 pm
Location: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

Re: How Can I Update My Bios From APM To ACPI

Post by zonxar » Sat Oct 08, 2005 8:18 am

Also, to identify which board you have, look for a number such as 35-8951-XX printed in very small lettering on the board surface, just behind the first ISA slot.

EDIT: Appears it could be Aristo AM-906, so the number may be 35-8928-01-XX, Super I/O ITE8671 + Winbond 39A Clock Generator

:)
Last edited by zonxar on Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

zonxar
Master Flasher
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 7:26 pm
Location: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

Re: How Can I Update My Bios From APM To ACPI

Post by zonxar » Sat Oct 08, 2005 9:26 am

And this is what the manual says:
2MB flash BIOS supporting PnP, APM, ATAPI, ACPI and DMI; 1MB flash with feature cut (e.g. ACPI/DMI) is available upon customer’s request.
Have you checked if the setting can be changed in the BIOS?

:)

zonxar
Master Flasher
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 7:26 pm
Location: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

Re: How Can I Update My Bios From APM To ACPI

Post by zonxar » Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:04 am

PcPartner AP133AS1-906 BIOS V1023IAG available at the link ajzchips posted above.

:)

safwan
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:19 am

Post by safwan » Sat Oct 08, 2005 7:07 pm

Is There Any Way Of Upgrading To ACPI.Sorry For the another Topic 'Bios' By Mistake i clicked new post instead of reply

zonxar
Master Flasher
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 7:26 pm
Location: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

Re: How Can I Update My Bios From APM To ACPI

Post by zonxar » Sat Oct 08, 2005 9:48 pm

Have you checked the information in the posts above? This information is needed in order for us to help with what you are asking.

:)

safwan
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:19 am

Post by safwan » Sun Oct 09, 2005 4:33 am

Actually i want to just get acpi support because when i try to install windows vista it is telling that my bios is not acpi complaint

KURIAKI
Moderator
Posts: 1037
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 9:37 pm
Location: Cancun, Mexico

Post by KURIAKI » Sun Oct 09, 2005 5:13 am

Windows Vista

Minimum system requirements will not be known until summer 2006 at the earliest. However, these guidelines provide useful estimates:

• 512 megabytes (MB) or more of RAM

• A dedicated graphics card with DirectX® 9.0 support

• A modern, Intel Pentium- or AMD Athlon-based PC.
More than 100,000 BIOS strings in my database just now!
http:/ /www.kuriaki.has.it/
http:/ /www.supportbios.info
------------------------------------------
Saludos desde Cancun, Mexico
KURIAKI

safwan
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:19 am

Post by safwan » Mon Oct 10, 2005 6:13 am

KURIAKI wrote:Windows Vista

Minimum system requirements will not be known until summer 2006 at the earliest. However, these guidelines provide useful estimates:

• 512 megabytes (MB) or more of RAM

• A dedicated graphics card with DirectX® 9.0 support

• A modern, Intel Pentium- or AMD Athlon-based PC.

but then also can i upgrade to acpi?

ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Post by ajzchips » Mon Oct 10, 2005 11:35 am

There are usually switches or options to force an ACPI installation.

safwan
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:19 am

Post by safwan » Mon Oct 10, 2005 12:30 pm

ajzchips wrote:There are usually switches or options to force an ACPI installation.
Where can i find those options or switches?

ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Post by ajzchips » Mon Oct 10, 2005 12:58 pm

You might have to do some Googling, but forcing an ACPI installation for a very new OS with a not-too-recent BIOS may cause problems.

safwan
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:19 am

Post by safwan » Wed Oct 12, 2005 6:02 am

How can i do it will backup bios and try this way once

zonxar
Master Flasher
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 7:26 pm
Location: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

Re: How Can I Update My Bios From APM To ACPI

Post by zonxar » Wed Oct 12, 2005 8:43 am


Post Reply