globalyst 510

Video, SCSI, modem, CDROM/CDR/CDRW, etc.
Post Reply
webmax666
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 11:46 am
Location: Germany - near Hannover
Contact:

i've an old AT&T globalyst-510. i will integrate an old Monochrome grafik-card, because i will use an old monochrome display (9pin connector). but the the external grafik-card don't recognize any monitor / or possible the gfx-card isn't recognized by the globalyst-510.
who can help me?
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

Check http://www.groove-trax.de/jumper/m/A-B/33461.htm. Have you disabled on-board video ?
Have you selected monochrome as display type ?
webmax666
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 11:46 am
Location: Germany - near Hannover
Contact:

yes, i've disabled the onboard graphic-chip. i now think the problem is with the external graphic-card. i don't have any informations about it, and how to set the jumpers.
i think the manufacteur of the card is TLI USA an the type is P/N 8822 or NM1 94V-0 or 59-6679-0005. more can't i find on the graphic board. on the main chips is printed COLORImage. an the card was buil in 1988 :-)...
has anybody a info how to set the four switches/jumpers?
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

Sorry, I didn't realise you were trying to run a mono display from a colour card. This is not generally possible; it will depend on your card. Generally you would drive it with an MGA card or a Hercules-compatible mono card. These usually had a printer port on as well: I think I still have one somewhere.
If the card has an FCC ID you should be able to find out what the card is.
webmax666
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 11:46 am
Location: Germany - near Hannover
Contact:

this video-card has a vga and a monochrome port. but i don't know how to activate the right port, because there are 4 switches.
i tried both ports. onece with vga and then with black-and-wite.
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

Any chance of a picture ?
webmax666
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 11:46 am
Location: Germany - near Hannover
Contact:

i've uploaded some pictures of the graphics-card at http://home.knuut.de/Ma.Lange/Mix/gfx-card.htm
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

The card was made in 1990. Most chips have 89 date code but all the memory chips have 90.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

Excellent pictures, but it is not a card I recognise. It is likely to be a Trident TVGA8800 based card; the square chip probably says "TVGA8800" on it if you peel the Colorimage label off. My cards have a 6-way switch pack as well as the IRQ 2/9 enable/disable jumper (posn E/D) and Mono/Color jumper. Monitor type selection is on the first 4 switches and is as follows:
All ON - VGA mode
1 OFF, others ON - EGA mode
2 OFF, others ON - CGA mode
1 & 2 OFF, 3 & 4 ON, MDA/Hercules mode

5 is fast/slow address decode, 6 is 16 bit/8 bit data path.
webmax666
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 11:46 am
Location: Germany - near Hannover
Contact:

ok, i will try it with your good information.
and, i've removed the label of the square chip. there is printed:
TSENG LABS
ET3000AX
11038F-0005
JAPAN 8927EAY

thank you for your help...
maximilian
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6275
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Found description of one with that chip here:
http://www.tarigon.de/tramp/et3000ax.html

Maybe it works for yours as well
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

webmax666 wrote:i've removed the label of the square chip. there is printed:
TSENG LABS ET3000AX
Ah, well - I can't guess right all the time :?
Good luck with Edwin's info.
webmax666
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 11:46 am
Location: Germany - near Hannover
Contact:

thank you for your help!
maximilian
Post Reply