Updating VBIOS

Video, SCSI, modem, CDROM/CDR/CDRW, etc.
jbell
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 6:10 am

Thu Mar 15, 2007 10:41 pm

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/Te ... D=1058#120

THANKS !!!

what I'm doing is using amibcp75 to remove the 1039:6330 bios from the ks741 MB bios. using cbrom to /vga release, then using /vga NEWVGA.ROM. It all looks right. If I then open it in wflash, wflash doesn't know what kind of bios it is.....
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

Thu Mar 15, 2007 11:08 pm

jbell wrote:All I see on that site is 2.07 and 2.15... However, I finally found another link and tried 2.20 - same results.
Oh, sorry - I missed that you were looking for 2.20 - I just knew that 2.07 works for a lot of stuff that older cbroms, for example 1.13, do not.
Tested patched BIOSes. Untested patched BIOSes.
Emails *will* be ignored unless the subject line starts "Wim's BIOS forum"
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Thu Mar 15, 2007 11:37 pm

recent cbrom:
http://www.rebelshavenforum.com/sis-bin ... 000068;p=0

to fix the checksum:
open the modded bios with modbin and save it. that's all.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Fri Mar 16, 2007 12:00 am

D:\bios>cbrom220 240hv109.bin /D
CBROM V2.20 (C)Phoenix Technologies, Ltd 2001 All Rights Reserved.

******** 240hv109.bin BIOS component ********

No. Item-Name Original-Size Compressed-Size Original-File-Name
================================================================================
0. System BIOS 20000h(128.00K)12B59h(74.84K)240HV109.BIN
1. XGROUP CODE 0D060h(52.09K)08986h(34.38K)awardext.rom
2. ACPI table 0359Eh(13.40K)01510h(5.27K)ACPITBL.BIN
3. YGROUP ROM 09DB0h(39.42K)04A23h(18.53K)awardeyt.rom
4. GROUP ROM[ 0] 04820h(18.03K)02021h(8.03K)_EN_CODE.BIN
5. LOGO BitMap 2443Ch(145.06K)00994h(2.39K)hp75.bmp
6. VGA ROM[1] 08000h(32.00K)042F6h(16.74K)VGA23600.ROM
7. PCI ROM[A] 0A800h(42.00K)062F2h(24.74K)PXEB.LOM
8. OEM0 CODE 00D09h(3.26K)00878h(2.12K)int15_32.bin
9. NoCompress ROM 007CFh(1.95K)007FEh(2.00K)rom32.bin

Total compress code space = 4D000h(308.00K)
Total compressed code size = 2F425h(189.04K)
Remain compress code space = 1DBDBh(118.96K)

****** On Board VGA ROM In BootBlock ******

** Micro Code Information **
Update ID CPUID | Update ID CPUID | Update ID CPUID | Update ID CPUID
------------------+--------------------+--------------------+-------------------
and the 1.55 version:
D:\bios>cbrom_155 240hv109.bin /D
cbrom_155 V1.55 [10/12/05 Release] (C)Phoenix Technologies 2001-2005

******** 240hv109.bin BIOS component ********

No. Item-Name Original-Size Compressed-Size Original-File-Name
========================================12B59h(74.84K)==240HV109.BIN============ 0. System BIOS 20000h(128.00K)
1. XGROUP CODE 0D060h(52.09K) 08986h(34.38K) awardext.rom
2. ACPI table 0359Eh(13.40K) 01510h(5.27K) ACPITBL.BIN
3. YGROUP ROM 09DB0h(39.42K) 04A23h(18.53K) awardeyt.rom
4. GROUP ROM[ 0] 04820h(18.03K) 02021h(8.03K) _EN_CODE.BIN
5. LOGO BitMap 2443Ch(145.06K) 00994h(2.39K) hp75.bmp
6. VGA ROM[1] 08000h(32.00K) 042F6h(16.74K) VGA23600.ROM
7. PCI ROM[A] 0A800h(42.00K) 062F2h(24.74K) PXEB.LOM
8. OEM0 CODE 00D09h(3.26K) 00878h(2.12K) int15_32.bin
9. NoCompress ROM 007CFh(1.95K) 007FEh(2.00K) rom32.bin

Total compress code space = 4D000h(308.00K)
Total compressed code size = 2F425h(189.04K)
Remain compress code space = 1DBDBh(118.96K)

** Micro Code Information **
Update ID CPUID | Update ID CPUID | Update ID CPUID | Update ID CPUID
------------------+--------------------+--------------------+-------------------
What's the On-board VGA in Bootblock stuff? Could this be causing trouble?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
jbell
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 6:10 am

Mon Mar 19, 2007 6:18 pm

any ideas? HP now says it will be mid-end of week before they reply.
I've tried the /btvga but don't think it works the way I think it does.

any other known tools besides cbrom that might work for me?


UPDATE:
HP just sent me an new bios with 2.51 SIS vbios in it.
cool....
ykbean
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 3:45 pm

Sun Nov 30, 2008 3:47 pm

How to Set 1360 X 768 resolution on my LG W1941S LCD Monitor

MotherBoard: ASRock K7S41
VGA: SiS 741
Monitor: LG W1941S

Dear all,

I am not able to get the above resolution on my new monitor, it can only set to 1024 X 768.

I have done the following:
Update VGA driver to version UVGA3 3.85
Download new BIO to Version 2.60 but not able to load to the existing BIOS.

I follow all instructions from:

http://www.asrock.com/support/faq.asp?k=k7s41

I use 775VM800/P4VM800/K7S41GX/K7S41 motherboards. Do these models support 1440x900 resolution?(7/21/2006)

If your board is K7S41, Please update BIOS to P2.30 or later and VGA driver to 3.73 or later version.

http://www.asrock.com/mb/download.asp?Model=K7S41
http://www.sis.com/download/agreement.php?id=155931




I have download the 2 files ASRflash.exe and K7S41_2.60 and put them into a floppy drive.
Then I go to CMD and type

A:\ASRflash K7S41_2.60

It gives these details:

DOS/4G Protected Mode Runtime Version 2.01a
Copyright (c) Tenberry Softare, Inc 1996
> Error 18 - Chipset/Flash part isn't available. The function will be invaild.

Anyway to deal with these?
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Sun Nov 30, 2008 5:34 pm

I really hope your floppy was a bootable floppy disk like one created by the little program called drdflash.exe. With you typing CMD it looks like you tried to flash from the command/DOS window inside windows. If it was the latter then you're lucky not to have killed your Bios.
dark_templar
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 5:48 pm

Mon Jun 21, 2010 7:22 pm

sera que alguwm pode me ajudar eu queria atulizar bois SIS672 .....sou meio leigo :?: :?: :?: nisso só gostaria de atualizar ela....é posivel. obrigado!!!! :mrgreen:
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Fri Jun 25, 2010 11:15 am

Time for an email their way and maybe some extra cash if you offer to patch the bioses for them :P
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Mon Apr 15, 2013 9:44 am

Just a FYI on how SiS is trying to "help" you, these are the version numbers of the bioses provided with their latest and greatest driver set (3.83)

sis650 1.15.00
sis660 0.65.00
sis740 1.15.11
sis741 0.85.00
sis760 0.85.00

As you can see all of these are way below the minimum version needed for 1440x900 which is mentioned on their own website. :roll:
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply