K6XV3+/66 jumpers doubts

Ask a question about your computer setup.
Post Reply
videoclock
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:04 am

Tue Sep 28, 2010 1:15 pm

Hi people!


I'm trying to use this motherboard, but I'm not sure how I have to configure the jumpers.

I'm using AMD K6 II 550MHz, 3 RAM modules of 128MBytes each one, and I can read in the manual that it's a PC133:

That's my current configuration, but the PC has a strange behaviour and it hangs or reboots trying to install windows or booting a linux live cd:

JP8: Jumper 1: OFF
2: OFF
3: OFF
4: OFF
5: OFF
6: ON

JP5: jumper 1 and 2 connected, jumper 3 alone

SW1: Jumper 1: OFF
2: OFF
3: OFF
4: ON
5: OFF

with this configuration about JP5 and SW1 I get 2.8V for the k6 II 550 MHz processor. Is it the correct voltage?

Jumper setting for SDRAM clock: Jumper 2-3 ON --> SDRAM CLK = CPU CLK

Jumper setting for clearing CMOS data: Jumper 2-3 ON --> Normal

CPU fan Connector: nothing connected there

AGP fan connector: CPU cooler plugged there ( the graphics card is PCI)

Is this configuration correct? If not, please, let me know.

Thanks in advance.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:08 pm

do this first to see if you're not having a bad memory module.
http://k6plus.com/index.php?name=PNphpB ... &view=next

you do have a rev B of this board? needed for 550 support:
http://www.cpu-upgrade.com/mb-DFI/K6XV3+_66.html

do you have a different power supply to test with? did you use a working video card already?
http://www.wimsbios.com/forum/topic11313.html
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
videoclock
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:04 am

Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:55 pm

Thanks edwin!

I will try these comments!

I will answer and tell you about the tests.
videoclock
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:04 am

Tue Sep 28, 2010 7:18 pm

The power supply has broken down today and the PC does nothing now when I press the switch on button. I think the power supply was slowly breaking down because a lot of time before the pc became to have errors in unpredictable moments.

I think there was an error apart from the described before because of the strange errors trying to install windows or booting a linux live cd, but I've never known this exact error.

Regards.
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Tue Sep 28, 2010 8:28 pm

I get 2.8V for the k6 II 550 MHz processor. Is it the correct voltage?
NO! most K6-2 require 2.2V, only few models require more or less than that. The K6-2 550 definately requires 2.3V since it's a AGR (the G says 2.3V core voltage). 2.8V is BY FAR too much!

this should deliver the required 2.3V vCore:
SW1: Jumper
1: ON
2: ON
3: OFF
4: OFF
5: OFF
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
videoclock
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:04 am

Wed Sep 29, 2010 12:25 pm

Thanks cp. It's possible that this can also be the reason of the errors

Regards
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:08 pm

If you ran the K6-2 550 with 2.8V over a longer period you may have either killed the CPU or the motherboard voltage regulators.
Post Reply