Redfox 6XV93A setting.

Ask a question about your computer setup.
Post Reply
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Thu Jul 11, 2002 1:31 pm

OK, here goes, although this question would better fit a "What does this MOTHERBOARD setting do"? (Soupy, you might want to rename this section to ".......BIOS / MOTHERBOARD......")

I might be getting this motherboard in a few days, and on page 11 of its manual: http://www.redfox-online.com/Manuals/6xv93a.zip (it's small, don't worry).

...there's JP5 (3 jumpers) for "USB and AGP USB mode" with 2 possible settings:
USB2 FOR USB2: all 3 jumpers on pins 1 and 2.
USB2 FOR AGP: all 3 on pins 2 and 3.

Now, anybody know what that means? I've never, ever, come across a setting like this. :?

BTW, USB2 has nothing to do with a second set of USB pins for additional USB ports, for those of you who'll just guess an answer :wink:
soupy
Absentee administrator
Posts: 1086
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:06 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Thu Jul 11, 2002 2:40 pm

Hm, maybe the IRQ can only go to the AGP slot or the 2nd USB bank.
Flash your BIOS at your own risk.
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Thu Jul 11, 2002 3:10 pm

There is NO second USB bank....
soupy
Absentee administrator
Posts: 1086
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:06 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Thu Jul 11, 2002 3:33 pm

Huh. The description on their web page said there is.

http://www.redfox-online.com/Prod.%20Ma ... 6XV93A.htm

1 - Dual USB Header (for computer casings with front-panel USB ports)
Flash your BIOS at your own risk.
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Thu Jul 11, 2002 3:50 pm

I'll double-check that. The manual doesn't seem to even hint the second USB bank, and I don't recall ever seeing it (it's not with me; I only had a quick look at it).

Anyway, I was more after the definition of "USB or AGP USB mode"
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Fri Jul 12, 2002 12:34 am

Finally got the board. The description of the board on their site is the result of a disastrous cut&paste. The board has NO second USB header.
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Mon Jul 15, 2002 5:38 pm

Thanks to an old post by Edwin, I found out my board is identical to the ACORP 6VIA83B, where I got a brand new BIOS update from :)

Now, I've written their support staff regarding the "famous" JP5, and this is their reply:

From: "ACORP-FAE" <fae@acorp.com.tw>
----------------------------------------------------------------
Dear Sir:

thank you for your support kindly.
JP5 is a definition of USB port,if your AGP VGA Card support USB port
function,you could set the jumper,if not,don't have to chance it.
if you still have any technical problem,please contact us again.

Best Regards.
ACORP ELECTRONICS CORPORATION
Technical Support
WWW.ACORP.COM.TW
-----------------------------------------------------------------

Now.... what's this about an AGP VGA card supporting USB port function?
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Mon Sep 16, 2002 10:34 am

From ACORP'S FAE again:
Dear Sir ,

Good day to you . Thank you for your e-mail .

In the past , motherboard can support a special VGA card with contains USB connector , but it depended on VGA card's manufacturers support. However , this function was not interested by VGA card's manufacturers. You can't see this kind product in the marketing . Therefore ,The Jumper JP5 it means , if you have this kind speciall VGA card , you need to adjust it . If you don't have this one , you can ignore Jumper JP5 , it doesn't effect your motherboard .

If you still have other questions , please contact us again , we will reply
you as soon as possible .

Best regards

ACORP ELECTRONICS CORP.
TECH.SUPPORT
http://www.acorp.com.tw
Now, I've asked them what it physically does. I suppose (like on some Gigabyte boards and others) it switches from onboard-regulated 3.3V to direct PSU 3.3V to better feed the "hypothetical" USB on VGA...[/quote]
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Mon Sep 16, 2002 8:01 pm

Test it with ohm-meter.

AGP slot really has USB pins http://www.hardwarebook.net/connector/bus/agp.html
A4=USB-
B4-USB+
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Mon Sep 16, 2002 8:49 pm

Rainbow, did you know about the USB pins in the AGP port, or did you just find out now? I was totally unaware of this issue.

In normal situations (most mobos), are A4 and B4 disabled?
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Mon Sep 16, 2002 9:39 pm

Found that some time ago while repairing a board - I wanted AGP pinout and found that USB is there.
BTW.: USB devices are powered by 5V which is also present on the AGP
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Mon Sep 16, 2002 9:42 pm

Mea culpa.... you're right... 5V.... where was my head!!!
Post Reply