need help in id'ing motherboard--beginner at it

How-to identify your motherboard ?
jesterabk
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 5:32 am
Location: Boston, MA

Dear Edwin:

Thanks for responding.

So, you are saying that there is a graphics adapter on the Motherboard?

Wherever it is, I understand that I don't want to delete it, I want to disable it. How exactly do I disable the PCI Graphics adapter? Will that Yellow exclamation mark error disappear then?

#2: As for the error message, I don't know what it says other than the system has become unstable or busy. Press any key to continue or ctrl-alt-delete to restart. I will have to wait until it happens again (if it does) and write it down and let you know...

Thanks also for the profile info.
th
Legacy means reliability
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 5:41 pm
Contact:

Hi

There is a jumper for disabling the onboard graphics.
Check out the Jumper settings at:
http://home.directlink.net/~timmy/M571/M571.htm


Bye
Thomas
286-16/NEAT Chipset/4 MB Mem/40 MB HDD/512kB Tridet/WfW
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

1. it will be replaced by a red cross through it. It shouldn't generate any errors when checking your configuration anymore.

2. without the exact error message, no way of finding what might be wrong.
jesterabk
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 5:32 am
Location: Boston, MA

Dear Thomas and Edwin:

Edwin, thanks for the reply. If I get the error msg. again, I will note it and let you know....

Thomas: I went to your site. Thanks, first of all. It looks like a great resource for M571....Now, here's my question re: disabling onboard graphics. Is that the same as disabling the "JP3 Internal VGA Option" or is it some other part of the Motherboard? I just want to make sure I move the right thing.

Thank you in advance.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

JP3 is the one. Power off, move the jumper to pins 1-2, power on.
jesterabk
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 5:32 am
Location: Boston, MA

Dear Edwin and Thomas,

I forgot to ask WHERE the JP3 is located on the motherboard...took me a while to find it but I did...tiny writing!!

I moved the Pins to 1-2 and rebooted and now the display adaptor only shows the S3 ViRGE DX/GX Video Card!!

Problem solved!!

Thank you so so much....

ONE MORE ISSUE STILL UNRESOLVED??....

I am still having one more minor issue still with the mouse--not really the mouse itself but the way the computer is set up to read things:

I installed the new LOGITECH mouse but the computer seems to be still reading the info for the old mitsumi mouse.

Here's what I did to try to correct:

1-I deleted the MTM (mitsumi mouse) folder from Program files.
2-Got error message upon re-boot that "mtmmouse.pointctl.exe could not be found... Delete reference in win.ini..."
3-I deleted load=c:\MTMMOUSE\POINTCTL.EXE from win.ini
4-upon re-boot, got another error message:

C:\MTMMOUSE\MOUSE /B /N /L=GB /M=8,16 /A1 /F /R=0
Bad command or file

When I did a run: msconfig, this file is showing up in autoexec.bat.

I tried to delete it and when I re-booted, the error was still there and so was the file.

Question 1: What do I have to do to correct this error and stop the computer from reading mitsumi mouse files?

Question 2: Is there anything that I have to do or set up in win.ini for the computer to properly read the new logitech mouse better? The mouse seems to be working fine, but just thought I'd ask.

Question 3: What exactly is win.ini and what does it do?

Thank you once again for your excellent help. You have been invaluable.

PS. For the future--If I want to ask a new question on a new issue within this BIOS forum, how do I know in which forum section to post the question for general computer questions? Thanks.
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-Fu Master
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon May 13, 2002 11:20 pm
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

JP3 or J3 is located near the BIOS chip. As per Part2-21C-Page 8 of the manual.
C:\MTMMOUSE\MOUSE /B /N /L=GB /M=8,16 /A1 /F /R=0
Bad command or file

When I did a run: msconfig, this file is showing up in autoexec.bat.

I tried to delete it and when I re-booted, the error was still there and so was the file.

Question 1: What do I have to do to correct this error and stop the computer from reading mitsumi mouse files?
Check both Config.sys and Autoexec.bat for this.
Question 2: Is there anything that I have to do or set up in win.ini for the computer to properly read the new logitech mouse better? The mouse seems to be working fine, but just thought I'd ask.

Question 3: What exactly is win.ini and what does it do?
Win.ini controls user prefferances and other such things for Windows. I would not make any changes unless its necessary. "If it ain't broke, don't fix it"
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier
jesterabk
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 5:32 am
Location: Boston, MA

As you suggested, I e-mailed Norton Anti Virus (Symantec) and they sent back the following response:

<<You can disable the Norton AntiVirus Office Plugin and you will not
see virus scans every time an Office document is opened. The following
document will tell you how:

Title: 'How to enable and disable the Norton AntiVirus plug-in for
Microsoft Office'
Document ID: 1999091612160606
> Web URL:

http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/na ... Open&src=w

Be sure to set AutoProtect to scan all files when they are opened or
you will not be fully protected. The Office documents will not be
scanned if you re-enable this feature.>>

Just in case you wanted to know what they said.

Thanks again for your assistance.
jesterabk
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 5:32 am
Location: Boston, MA

Hi Edwin:

I posted something that you didn't respond to and I was curious to know the answer when you get the chance. I was wondering if one of the files I downloaded to a "storage" file was also a bios upgrade or something else?

You mentioned that "AMI bios upgrade files end in .rom I suppose it's the same, but can you give us the location of that file?"

It was from the following site. The file is called 990305s.rom and is located under the M571 heading on the page at:


http://www.pcchips.com.tw/BIOS.html

I look forward to you clarifying what this file is.

Thanks.
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-Fu Master
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon May 13, 2002 11:20 pm
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

990305s.rom is a BIOS upgrade for the M571 Motherboard. You run the flash program and tell it to use that file to update your BIOS.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier
jesterabk
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 5:32 am
Location: Boston, MA

Thank you for answering the question!

Have a great evening.
Post Reply