IBM Thinkpad 600E bios mod for processor update

Don't ask how to hack password. (BIOS Passwords)
Sharedoc
Notebook Genius
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 8:46 pm
Location: Finland

I would go back and study why Powerleap control panel did not install right.
Katch
BIOS Rookie
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:07 pm

Make sure you get the right Powerleap file - I had difficulty with one that was packed as a zip I believe.

The correct an dfunctioning file is packed as a rar archive.
Thinkpad T20 - 900 MHz (Looking for 1 GHz) 512 Mb - 40Gb 5200rpm - Mini PCI wireless Mod installed behind LCD - (Looking for Slim DVDRW)
zverina
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 12:28 pm

[quote="Sharedoc"]SpeedStep mod + boot from battery + keep processor cooling air output closed during boot => boots higher speed

Like you said! It works. :)

Thanks again. :)

Rok
Sebi
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 12:46 am

Hi there,

finally, I brought my 600e back to life by replacing the system board....

Did any of you found a solution in the meantime on how to enable the cache on resume from suspend or hibernation?

As far as you´re using Linux and ACPI there´s no problem to unload and reload the cache enabling module. But what about windows? And I´m currently using APM without any daemon, just plain bios suspend/hibernation, which means no cache until I´m reenabling it manually.

SpeedStep: did anyone find out more about those speedstep controllers? Maybe we could use the controller on the cpu card to do the switching?

Sebi
DadGuy
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 12:55 am

hi...

There are obviously some bright and experienced folk here so I'm hoping to get some help. I have Thinkpad 600E 5BU PII 130 meg mem, 18 gig hd that understandably runs pretty sluggishly. I would really like to upgrade the processor and the memory and if someone would tell me what processor (and where best to obtain) I can make work with the tips and tricks I've been reading about in this post I'd really appreciate the assitance...
Smeghead
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:14 pm
Contact:

Ebay for the processor(any P3 650 mhz and slower can be had cheap.)
Shop around for the ram(see prvous posts to get the right kind)
NewEgg.com has some good deals on notebook drives but again shop around, pricewatch is handy for this.
Holgi128
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 2:16 am

The speedstep mod doesn`t work with my 600E.

I have a PIII-650 CPU. I did the mod on both sides. At no time the mod works. Always only 500MHz.

Today i did the 108MHz FSB mod. This mod works. Now i get 540 MHz.

But i don`t know why the speedstep mod not work.

I have the latest bios.
My 600E is a 4A0 like sharedocs.
I use two PC-66 128MB modules (i think that doesn`t matter in this case, they work well)

Sharedocs advise: "SpeedStep mod + boot from battery + keep processor cooling air output closed during boot => boots higher speed" take no effect.

Can someone help me or has some tips for me ???

i mailed sharedoc some pics from my mods. he told me that i`ve made the mods in right way.

Where is the problem?
Sharedoc
Notebook Genius
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 8:46 pm
Location: Finland

Holgi,

In the WCPUID snapshot you sent me by email, I could see that the CPUID
Family 6
Model 8
Stepping 1

Are the same as I had in my old *non-SpeedStep* 450MHZ PIII.

In my 700MHz SpeedStep PIII, the CPUID is
Family 6
Model 8
Stepping 3

Therefore I have reason to believe that you have a non-SpeedStep PIII.

Please take a look at the mmc2 printed circuit board what it writes as CPU speed there.
Holgi128
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 2:16 am

I found a label on it: FRU 10L1356

in internet it is a PIII-650

original ibm.
Sharedoc
Notebook Genius
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 8:46 pm
Location: Finland

I wonder if you have found a counterfeit PIII-mmc2-module?

Anyone else have a 650MHz PIII? What CPUID does it give?

In original Intel manufactured mmc2 modules, there is an id string at the lower side opposite end of the mmc2 connector. (Actually it is just beside the SpeedStep controller IC). It is printed on white stripe at the end of the card. Give me the id string.
Sharedoc
Notebook Genius
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 8:46 pm
Location: Finland

Sebi,

Welcome back. Did you buy 600X or 600E motherboard?

Nope. No new info found onSpeedStep controller chip.

Also SpeedStep mod's higher-frequency is discontinued after resume from suspend-to-disk. (Fn-F4)
Holgi128
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 2:16 am

@ sharedoc

the id is PMM65002001 AA


in the white field is more written:
IW01016XU

PBA 748708-251

Hope this helps.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Holgi128 wrote:The speedstep mod doesn`t work with my 600E.

I have a PIII-650 CPU. I did the mod on both sides. At no time the mod works. Always only 500MHz.

Today i did the 108MHz FSB mod. This mod works. Now i get 540 MHz.

But i don`t know why the speedstep mod not work.

I have the latest bios.
My 600E is a 4A0 like sharedocs.
I use two PC-66 128MB modules (i think that doesn`t matter in this case, they work well)

Can someone help me or has some tips for me ???

Where is the problem?
I am already surprised those PC66 run at 108...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Holgi128
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 2:16 am

me too. but they do.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

I think that's where the problem is, if you want the 650 to run properly you need 133MHz FSB, that is TWICE the speed your memory is rated for...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply