need help in id'ing motherboard--beginner at it

How-to identify your motherboard ?
jesterabk
BIOS Newbie

Hi: Someone at computing.net recommend me to this site. A friend recently "rebuilt" my computer but didn't tell me what brands he put inside! I am new to understanding the technical aspects of the insides of a computer and I have spent the past week identifying the sound card, video card, and recently identified the BIOS. I would like to identify and know what I have for a motherboard.

From what I could see from reading other posts, listing the BIOS info helps identify the motherboard (true??), so I can tell you from the "Bios Wizard" report I did that I have an American Megatrends
BIOS ID# 51-0506-001437-00101111-071595-M571
BIOS DATE 7/15/95 BIOS ROM SIZE: UNKNOWN
BIOS SIGNON: UNKNOWN
CHIPSET: SiS5597 rev 2
Super I/O Chip: UMC/ITE 8669 found at port 108h

When I opened up the computer, I saw something on the motherboard that said:
AMIBIOS
586c ("c"=copywright sign) 1985-1995

On the motherboard also were a few chips. One said:
Soundpro
HT 1869U+
EIW25
9815 PCI

Another chip said:
UMC
UM867OF
9749-AXA
ZMB720

A third chip said:
UT6164C64AQ-5
2TO1108.167F

A last thing I saw written within some kind of square with two columns (it didn't look like a chip though)--the heading of the first column is JP7 then the heading of the next column
says A B and then there is small writing (#'s???) listed underneath the A and the B.

Pardon my lack of knowledge. I just copied what I saw. I hope this helps someone to help me know what I have in my computer, and also whether I would need to upgrade my BIOS. If it matters, I have a pentium, 233Mgz processor, 80MB ram (I added more to the 64 orig. RAM) and a 3GB highdrive--I'm small beans here!

Thanks in advance for your help.
zonxar
Master Flasher

The M571 indicates PcChips M571 motherboard. Go to the following link and choose the "...DO KNOW..." link on the right side and then the M5xx link: