MB Asus P4PE-X TE & Prescot P4

Don't ask how to over-clock.
Post Reply
djwhite
BIOS Rookie
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2002 9:24 am

I have a problem. I have MB Asus P4PE-X TE and it doesn't work with my new procesor.

Before changing procesor:

My motherboard work fine with Intel Celeron 2400MHz Northwood (FSB was 400MHz,128KB cash and of course my memory run at 266Mhz_even it is 333MHz modul). Bios was updeted to newer reliece 1006. Sometimes I have had 512MB RAM, sometimes 256MB_offten changing modules and manufactures.But it work perfect all the time with all modules.

Problem:

My M/B can not boot (black screen and beeps) when I put my new P4 2800MHz 533MHz FSB Prescot (90nm) with 1MB cash memory.When I power up my comp. M/B start to make beeps like the procesor is not recognized.

What I tryed:

I thry three more procesor (same 2.8GHz FSB 533MHz, 90nm,1MB cash) and tenths of memory modules (three diferent manufactures and two tipes 333MHz and 400MHz SS and DS modules), three diferent VGA, 3 same M/B Asus P4PE-X TE . Changing position of memory (slot1,slot2,slot3).All those memory modules, M/B's and VGA's with my old Intel Cel.4 2400MHz ,FSB 400MHz,128KB cash, Northwood 1300nm procesor boot and work normal. I try to reflash the Bios with the same latest version (1006) and try with beta reliece bios (1007.001) but the same problem apiered (no boot,bios beep_the same beep when you try to boot without procesor).The beeps are the same when I put the procesor in ZIF and when there is no any procesor in motherboard.That indicade that problem is in recognizing procesor. When I put those procesors (2.8GHz Prescot) in Asus M/B P4B533-X it works normal. There is on the Asus site that M/B Asus P4PE-X TE support Prescot procesors since bios 1005 and I have had it newer 1006. What I suspect: POWER. I know that Celeron will work normal even if You pull out 12V cable out of P4 motherboard.But P4 won't work (the extra 12V power is designed for P4 procesor).Maybe the 12V cable,power box on ATX case or 12V pin on the motherboard is problem ( it's preaty small chances that 12V conector is bad on all same three M/B I tryed). I did not try to change ATX or only power box on ATX case.What about CPU core voltage?Is it the same on Prescot and Northwood procesors?

Any good idea!?
djwhite
BIOS Rookie
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2002 9:24 am

Try new ATX.Nothing.The same.I read it on the intel site that Prescot CPU core voltage is in 1.2v-1.4V and for Northwood about 1.5V.But it's logic that M/B recognize CPU core voltage becouse default settings for CPU core voltage is: AUTO. But there is no logic!?Any idea?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

memory sticks.

http://www.asus.com/products/mb/socket4 ... erview.htm
P4PE-X/TE DDR400 Memory Qualified Vender List Vendor Model Size Brand SS/
DS Component Max DIMM
TwinMos TMD7608F8E50D 256MB TwinMos SS M2G9I08AFATT9F081AA4T 1
MICRON MT46V16M8-5ESB 256MB MICRON DS MT16VDDT3264AG-403B2 1
Apacer K4H560838D-TCC4 256MB SAMSUNG SS 77.10636.465 1
Transcend V58C2256804SAT5 256MB MOSEL SS TS32MLD64V4F3 1
A DATA K4H560838D-TCC4 256MB SAMSUNG SS NA 1
SAMSUNG K4H560838E-TCCC 256MB SAMSUNG SS M368L3223ETM-CCC 1
hynix HY5DU56822BT-D43 256MB hynix SS HYMD232646B8J-D43 AA 1
If not on the list -> not qualified -> trouble.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
djwhite
BIOS Rookie
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2002 9:24 am

I have read that.I used tenth-s of diferent memoryes (in most case 333MHz becouse of sinhronius work including Kingstone,Hynix,Samsung,Smart,A-Data) and 400MHz Exlair but it should work on all 333MHz modules (especial on Kingstone).
Ritchie
BIOS Guru
Posts: 761
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 5:17 am

I just checked the Intel website and cannot find the specific mention of Prescott in the PIV CPUS, although like yourself I do know that PIV Prescotts do exist.

What I did find is summarised below:

* 3 ranges of PIV, the PIV, the PIV w/hyperthreading and the Extreme PIVs.
* 2.8GHz 1MB Prescott top of the line of PIV. After that, move to hyper and extremes.

Now what I assumed prior to looking for this information was that all Prescotts would be hyperthreaded and based on minimum 800FSB, but in my look at Intel's website just now I was unable to find information to support that assumption.


So meanwhile until I can confirm my assumptions I am currently suspicous as to whether there is a 500FSB Prescott.

Therefore my advice to you is to double check the specs of your CPU. For example, if you do in fact have an 800FSB processor then your use of mainly 333MHz memory may well explain your power up problems. And although you have mentioned that you have also tried some 400MHz memory, it could purely be co-incidental that the few 400MHz modules you have tried may have compatibility issues.

Be interested to hear what you find out and how you go.
djwhite
BIOS Rookie
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2002 9:24 am

See http://developer.intel.com/design/Penti ... dbref/#800

Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor Family Line Items


Speed Cache size Hyper-Threading System Bus Package Product name
2.40 GHz 512KB No 400MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor 2.40 GHz
2.40A GHz 1MB L2 No 533MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor 2.40A GHz
2.40B GHz 512KB No 533MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor 2.40B GHz
2.40C GHz 512KB Yes 800MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor with HT Technology 2.40C GHz
2.60 GHz 512KB No 400MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor 2.60 GHz
2.60C GHz 512KB Yes 800MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor with HT Technology 2.60C GHz
2.66 GHz 512KB No 533MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor 2.66 GHz
2.80 GHz 512KB No 533MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor 2.80 GHz
2.80C GHz 512KB Yes 800MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor with HT Technology 2.80C GHz
3 GHz 512KB Yes 800MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor with HT Technology 3 GHz
3.06 GHz 512KB Yes 533MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor with HT Technology 3.06 GHz
3.20 GHz 512KB Yes 800MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor with HT Technology 3.20 GHz
3.40 GHz 512KB Yes 800MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor with HT Technology 3.40 GHz
3.20 GHz 512KB L2 cache 2MB L3 cache Yes 800MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor with HT Technology Extreme Edition 3.20 GHz
3.40 GHz 512KB L2 cache 2MB L3 cache Yes 800MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor with HT Technology Extreme Edition 3.40 GHz
3.40 GHz 512KB L2 cache 2MB L3 cache Yes 800MHz FCLGA775 Intel Pentium 4 processor with HT Technology Extreme Edition 3.40 GHz
2.80A GHz 1MB No 533MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor 2.80A GHz
2.80E GHz 1MB Yes 800MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor with HT Technology 2.80E GHz
3E GHz 1MB Yes 800MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor with HT Technology 3E GHz
3.20E GHz 1MB Yes 800MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor with HT Technology 3.20E GHz
3.40E GHz 1MB Yes 800MHz mPGA478 Intel Pentium 4 processor with HT Technology 3.40E GHz
2.80 GHz 1MB Yes 800MHz FCLGA775 Intel Pentium 4 processor 520 with HT TechnologyΔ
3 GHz 1MB Yes 800MHz FCLGA775 Intel Pentium 4 processor 530 with HT Technology
3.20 GHz 1MB Yes 800MHz FCLGA775 Intel Pentium 4 processor 540 with HT Technology
3.40 GHz 1MB Yes 800MHz FCLGA775 Intel Pentium 4 processor 550 with HT Technology
3.60 GHz 1MB Yes 800MHz FCLGA775 Intel Pentium 4 processor 560 with HT Technology

That is my new procesor 2.8A GHz (the bold one).It is Prescott and is definitely FSB 533MHz.There is allso data sheet on the intel web.And there is something about CPU core voltage (from 1.25V-1.4V) I spoke about.

See ftp://download.intel.com/design/Pentium ... 056102.pdf
ruelnov
Master Flasher
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 2:11 pm
Contact:

Seems your P4PE-X TE does not support 2.8GHz. Your Prescot worked fine with your P4B533-X because it supports up to 3.06GHz.

Another possibility is that the newest release of your P4PE-X TE bios still doesn't have the cpu microcode update for your Prescot.
djwhite
BIOS Rookie
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2002 9:24 am

I forget about this topic I had made.I solve the problem.It's motherboard problem.There are 2 version of Asus P4PE/TE.It's v.1.1 and v.2.0.Version 1.1 does not suport Presscot familiy at all but v.2.0 suports 533MHz Preccot family. I changed my motherboard with the same one only ver.2.0 and it work perfect.Thanks anyway.
Post Reply